Four Added to U.S. Attorney Advisory Committee
By Leah Nylen | May 6, 2010 12:31 pm

The Department of Justice said Thursday that four new U.S. Attorneys will be joining the Attorney General’s Advisory Committee (AGAC).

The committee, founded in 1973 and composed of U.S. Attorneys from around the country, makes recommendations to the Attorney General on policy and management issues. The members are selected by the Attorney General and serve three-year terms. B. Todd Jones, the U.S. Attorney for Minnesota, is the current chairman of the committee.

The new appointees are: Loretta E. Lynch of the Eastern District of New York; Stephanie M. Rose of Northern District of Iowa; Benjamin B. Wagner of Eastern District of California; and Sally Quillian Yates of Northern District of Georgia.

“These U.S. Attorneys, who have already made significant contributions to the work of the department, will be a strong addition to the AGAC.  I will continue to rely heavily on the AGAC as we work to further the department’s efforts to keep our nation safe, reduce violent crime and gang violence, promote civil rights and prosecute those who commit mortgage, financial and health care fraud,” Attorney General Eric Holder said in a statement.

All four U.S. Attorneys were picked by President Obama and confirmed in the past year.

The full membership of the committee is listed below.

B. Todd Jones, U.S. Attorney, District of Minnesota, Chair
Paul J. Fishman, U.S. Attorney, District of New Jersey, Vice Chair
Preet Bharara, U.S. Attorney, Southern District of New York
Dennis Burke, U.S. Attorney, District of Arizona
Sanford Coats, U.S. Attorney, Western District of Oklahoma
Steven M. Dettelbach, U.S. Attorney, Northern District of Ohio
Jenny Durkan, U.S. Attorney, Western District of Washington
Patrick J. Fitzgerald, U.S. Attorney, Northern District of Illinois
Loretta E. Lynch, U.S. Attorney, Eastern District of New York
Neil H. MacBride, U.S. Attorney, Eastern District of Virginia
Jim Letten, U.S. Attorney, Eastern District of Louisiana
Peter F. Neronha, U.S. Attorney, District of Rhode Island
Stephanie M. Rose, U.S. Attorney, Northern District of Iowa
Joyce White Vance, U.S. Attorney, Northern District of Alabama
Benjamin B. Wagner, U.S. Attorney, Eastern District of California
Sally Quillian Yates, U.S. Attorney, Northern District of Georgia
Ronald C. Machen, U.S. Attorney, District of Columbia, ex officio
Peter Jongbloed, Criminal Chief, District of Connecticut, ex officio
Gretchen Witt, Civil Chief, District of New Hampshire,ex officio


The Senate Democratic leader describes the Republicans' refusal to hold hearings on President Obama's eventual Supreme Court nominee "historically unbelievable and historically unprecedented."

An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.