Panel Approves Four U.S. Attorney Nominees
By Andrew Ramonas | June 10, 2010 11:29 am

The Senate Judiciary Committee endorsed by voice vote four more of President Barack Obama’s U.S. Attorney nominees at its meeting Thursday.

They are:

Donald J. Cazayoux (Gov)

- Donald J. Cazayoux (Middle District of Louisiana): The former U.S. House member would replace George W. Bush holdover David R. Dugas, who has served as U.S. Attorney since 2001. Read more about Cazayoux here.

- James A. Lewis (Central District of Illinois): The Central District of Illinois Assistant U.S. Attorney would succeed Rodger A. Heaton, who stepped down as U.S. Attorney last August. The district’s current acting U.S. Attorney is Jeffrey B. Lang. Read more about Lewis here.

- Thomas Delahanty II (Maine): The Maine Superior Court justice would replace Paula Silsby, who has led the Portland, Maine-based U.S. Attorney’s office since 2001. Delahanty previously served as U.S. attorney from 1980 to 1981. Read more about him here.

- Wendy J. Olson (Idaho): The Senior Litigation Counsel has worked in the Boise, Idaho-based U.S. Attorney’s office since 1997. Olson previously served at Justice Department headquarters in the Civil Rights Division as a trial attorney from 1992 to 1996 and Deputy Director of Operations and Assistant to the Director on the National Church Arson Task Force from 1996 to 1997. She would succeed Thomas Moss, who has served as Idaho U.S. Attorney since 2001. Read more about her here.

The panel has now approved 55 of Obama’s U.S. Attorney nominees, 51 of whom have won Senate confirmation. The committee has yet to schedule votes for another 17 would-be U.S. Attorneys.


Comments are closed.

The Senate Democratic leader describes the Republicans' refusal to hold hearings on President Obama's eventual Supreme Court nominee "historically unbelievable and historically unprecedented."

An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.