Senate Judiciary Announces Subcommittee Assignments for 113th Congress
By Main Justice staff | January 31, 2013 11:31 am

The Senate Judiciary Committee, chaired by Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), has announced committee assignments for the 113th Congress:

Subcommittee on Antitrust, Competition Policy and Consumer Rights
Oversees antitrust law and competition policy, including the Sherman, Clayton and Federal Trade Commission Acts. Reviews enforcement and policy at the Justice Department’s Antitrust Division and the FTC.

CHAIR: Amy Klobuchar, Minn.                   RANKING: Michael S. Lee, Utah
Chuck Schumer, N.Y.                                       Lindsey Graham, S.C.
Al Franken, Minn.                                             Chuck Grassley, Iowa
Christopher A. Coons, Del.                              Jeff Flake, Ariz.
Richard Blumenthal, Conn.


Subcommittee on Bankruptcy and the Courts
Oversees federal court jurisdiction, administration and management; rules of evidence and procedure; creation of new courts and judgeships; bankruptcy; and legal reform and liability issues.

CHAIR: Christopher A. Coons, Del.                RANKING: Jeff Sessions, Ala.
Dick Durbin, Ill.                                                    Chuck Grassley, Iowa
Sheldon Whitehouse, R.I.                                   Jeff Flake, Ariz.
Amy Klobuchar, Minn.                                       Ted Cruz, Texas
Al Franken, Minn.


Subcommittee on the Constitution, Civil Rights and Human Rights
Jurisdiction over Constitutional amendments; enforcement and protection of constitutional rights; statutory guarantees of civil rights and civil liberties; separation of powers; federa-state relations, and human rights laws.

CHAIR: Dick Durbin, Ill.                                            RANKING: Ted Cruz, Texas
Al Franken, Minn.                                                         Lindsey Graham, S.C.
Christopher A. Coons, Del.                                          John Cornyn, Texas
Richard Blumenthal, Conn.                                       Orrin Hatch, Utah
Mazie Hirono, Hawaii


Subcommittee on Crime and Terrorism
Oversight of the Department of Justice’s Criminal Division, Drug Enforcement Administration, Executive Office for U.S. Attorneys, Office on Violence Against Women, Bureau of Prisons,  Office of the Pardon Attorney, U.S. Parole Commission, Federal Bureau of Investigation, and Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives, as it relates to crime or drug policy;he U.S. Sentencing Commission; criminal justice and victims’ rights policy; oanti-terrorism enforcement and policy;  espionage laws and their enforcement.

CHAIR: Sheldon Whitehouse, R.I.                           RANKING: Lindsey Graham, S.C.

Dianne Feinstein, Calif.                                              Ted Cruz, Texas
Chuck Schumer, N.Y.                                                 Jeff Sessions, Ala.
Dick Durbin, Ill.                                                            Michael S. Lee, Utah
Amy Klobuchar, Minn.


Subcommittee on Immigration, Refugees and Border Security
Jurisdiction: (1) Immigration, citizenship, and refugee laws; (2) Oversight of the immigration functions of the Department of Homeland Security, including U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement, and Ombudsman Citizenship and Immigration Services; (3) Oversight of the immigration-related functions of the Department of Justice, the Department of State, the Department of Health and Human Services Office of Refugee Resettlement, and the Department of Labor; (4) Oversight of international migration, internally displaced persons, and refugee laws and policy; and (5) Private immigration relief bills.

CHAIR: Chuck Schumer, N.Y.                                 RANKING: John Cornyn, Texas
Patrick J. Leahy, Vt.                                                  Chuck Grassley, Iowa
Dianne Feinstein, Calif.                                             Orrin Hatch, Utah
Dick Durbin, Ill.                                                           Jeff Sessions, Ala.
Amy Klobuchar, Minn.                                             Jeff Flake, Ariz.
Richard Blumenthal, Conn.                                    Ted Cruz, Texas
Mazie Hirono, Hawaii


Subcommittee on Oversight, Federal Rights and Agency Action
Jurisdiction: (1) Administrative practices and procedures including agency rulemaking and adjudication; (2) Judicial review of agency action; (3) Third party enforcement of federal rights; (4) Oversight of the Department of Justice grant programs, as well as government waste and abuse; (5) private relief bills other than immigration; and (6) oversight of the Foreign Claims Settlement Commission.

CHAIR: Richard Blumenthal, Conn.                           RANKING: Orrin Hatch, Utah
Patrick J. Leahy, Vt.                                                          Jeff Flake, Ariz.
Amy Klobuchar, Minn.


Subcommittee on Privacy, Technology and the Law
Jurisdiction: (1) Oversight of laws and policies governing the collection, protection, use, and dissemination of commercial information by the private sector, including online behavioral advertising, privacy within social networking websites and other online privacy issues; (2) Enforcement and implementation of commercial information privacy laws and policies; (3) Use of technology by the private sector to protect privacy, enhance transparency and encourage innovation; (4) Privacy standards for the collection, retention, use and dissemination of personally identifiable commercial information; and (5) Privacy implications of new or emerging technologies.
CHAIR: Al Franken, Minn.                                               RANKING: Jeff Flake, Ariz.
Dianne Feinstein, Calif.                                                       Orrin Hatch, Utah
Chuck Schumer, N.Y.                                                           Michael S. Lee, Utah
Sheldon Whitehouse, R.I.                                                     John Cornyn, Texas
Christopher A. Coons, Del.                                                   Lindsey Graham, S.C.
Mazie Hirono, Hawaii


Comments are closed.

The Senate Democratic leader describes the Republicans' refusal to hold hearings on President Obama's eventual Supreme Court nominee "historically unbelievable and historically unprecedented."

An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.