Senate Confirms Four More U.S. Attorneys
By Andrew Ramonas | June 22, 2022 10:41 am

The Senate confirmed four more of President Barack Obama’s U.S. Attorney nominees by voice vote Tuesday morning.

They are:

Donald J. Cazayoux (Gov)

- Donald J. Cazayoux (Middle District of Louisiana): The former U.S. House member will replace George W. Bush holdover David R. Dugas, who has served as U.S. Attorney since 2001. Read more about Cazayoux here.

- James A. Lewis (Central District of Illinois): The Central District of Illinois Assistant U.S. Attorney will succeed Rodger A. Heaton, who stepped down as U.S. Attorney last August. Read more about Lewis here.

- Thomas Delahanty II (Maine): The Maine Superior Court justice will replace Paula Silsby, who has led the Portland, Maine-based U.S. Attorney’s office since 2001. Delahanty previously served as U.S. attorney from 1980 to 1981. Read more about him here.

- Wendy J. Olson (Idaho): The Senior Litigation Counsel has worked in the Boise, Idaho-based U.S. Attorney’s office since 1997. Olson previously served at Justice Department headquarters in the Civil Rights Division as a trial attorney from 1992 to 1996 and Deputy Director of Operations and Assistant to the Director on the National Church Arson Task Force from 1996 to 1997. She will succeed Thomas Moss, who has served as Idaho U.S. Attorney since 2001. Read more about her here.

Senate has now confirmed 55 of Obama’s U.S. Attorney nominees.

The chamber has yet to consider another 15 U.S. Attorney nominees who are waiting for votes in the Senate Judiciary Committee. The Senate also has yet to vote on two U.S. Attorney nominees who were approved by the panel Thursday.


Comments are closed.

The Senate Democratic leader describes the Republicans' refusal to hold hearings on President Obama's eventual Supreme Court nominee "historically unbelievable and historically unprecedented."

An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.